08.06.2018

Ethiopian Airlines inaugurates the first long haul line to Africa from Geneva


Genève Aéroport and Ethiopian Airlines inaugurated today a long haul line to Addis Ababa by last generation Boeing 787-8 Dreamliners. Geneva is now connected to the Ethiopian capital three times a week, creating a link between International Geneva and the headquarters of the African Union. Similarly, the Ethiopian airport is a true continental hub that, starting today, offers easier access to multiple destinations on the African continent, departing from Geneva.

The inauguration ceremony was held in the presence of Mr Tewolde GebreMariam, CEO of Ethiopian Airlines, Doctor Tedros Adhanom Gebreyesus, Director general of WHO, HE Mr Negash Kebret, Ambassador of Ethiopia in Geneva and Mr Jean-Marc Flükiger, Deputy Head of Mission at the Embassy of Switzerland in Ethiopia. The Manager of Genève Aéroport, Mr André Schneider was present to welcome the guests of the first flight landing at 7.25 am. The flight was greeted, as the tradition says, by the water fountains of the fire brigade. 

André Schneider is happy about this new connection: “The arrival of Ethiopian Airlines is the culmination of Genève Aéroport’s efforts to develop an intercontinental quality service that meets the needs of its market. This success completes the connections open in the past toward China, the Persian Gulf and North America. Moreover, according to our qualitative development strategy, Genève Aéroport is also particularly attentive to promote the arrival of last generation aircraft.” 

A new line for the benefit of diplomatic and economic exchanges with Africa
This new route, first long haul line destined for Sub-Saharan Africa, is especially expected by international Geneva and the diplomatic world. 

“Geneva hosts the largest number of international organisations in the world, which makes it a diplomatic hub.” It is in perfect complementarity with our hub in Addis Ababa, the diplomatic capital of Africa, which hosts the headquarters of the African Union and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa”, explains Tewolde GebreMariam, CEO of Ethiopian Airlines. He adds: “Government officials and staff of regional and international organisations in Geneva and through our extensive African network will now have great connectivity to complete their missions, with facilitated trips.”  

Industries such as finance, trading or export industries - not to mention tourism - will also benefit from this new air capacity to Ethiopia and the entire region.

Ethiopian, first company and gateway to the African continent
Ethiopian is the largest group of aviation in Africa, established more than 70 years ago. Today it is the carrier of reference for the entire African continent. Ethiopian Airlines serves more than 100 destinations worldwide and operates a particularly young and environmentally friendly fleet. The company is a member of Star Alliance since 2011 and is certified 4-star by SKYTRAX. 

Addis Ababa - Bole airport is the hub of the airline and the best platform of correspondence for the entire Africa. With this schedule, Ethiopian Airlines will offer excellent connections to more than 50 African destinations, both for business and tourist travellers. The best connections include Johannesburg, Nairobi, Dar es Salaam, Kinshasa, Luanda, or Victoria Falls.

Even if it is still little known as a tourist destination, Ethiopia has a fascinating culture and history. Second African country in terms of population, with more than 100 million inhabitants, it gives an incomparable variety of landscapes and offers the visitors an exciting Orthodox heritage and stunning national parks.

The large Ethiopian diaspora in Switzerland and many other African communities set in the region and in neighbouring France will also benefit from this new highly anticipated service.

New high-performance aircraft, practical timetables
The ADD-GVA route will be operated by the all-new Boeing 787-8 Dreamliner, which can accommodate 24 passengers in Business Class and 246 in Economy Class. This aircraft - newcomer in the company’s fleet - is one of the most modern on the market. At the forefront of technology in terms of noise and pollution, it offers exceptional comfort to the passengers.

Departure from Geneva:

  • Flights on Wednesday, Friday and Sunday 
  • Departure at 8.45 pm, arrival in Ethiopia at 5.55 am the next day.

Departure from Addis Ababa:

  • Flights on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday 
  • Departure at 11.10 pm, arrival in Switzerland at 7.25 am the next day

Press contact:
Abdel Nour Taline            
Coordinator of the Institutional Communication Service            
+41 76 554 64 07    

© Genève Aéroport – Photos by S. Gros


 Press release (.PDF)

 Article about Ethiopia by 30 degrees magazine



GVA : Urgences

Informations & News

08.06.2018

Ethiopian Airlines inaugure la première ligne long courrier vers l’Afrique depuis Genève


Genève Aéroport et Ethiopian Airlines ont inauguré aujourd’hui une liaison long courrier vers Addis Abeba, assurée par des Boeing 787-8 Dreamliners de dernière génération. Genève est désormais reliée à la capitale éthiopienne trois fois par semaine, créant un trait d’union entre la Genève Internationale et le siège de l’Union Africaine. De même, l’aéroport éthiopien est un véritable hub continental qui offre dès aujourd’hui un accès facilité à de multiples destinations du continent africain depuis Genève.

La cérémonie d’inauguration s’est tenue en présence de Monsieur Tewolde GebreMariam, CEO d’Ethiopian Airlines, Docteur Tedros Adhanom Gebreyesus, Directeur général de l’OMS, SE Monsieur Negash Kebret, Ambassadeur d’Ethiopie à Genève et Monsieur Jean-Marc Flükiger, Chef de mission suppléant à l’ambassade de Suisse en Éthiopie. Le directeur de Genève Aéroport Monsieur André Schneider était présent pour les accueillir lors du vol inaugural, salué comme le veut la tradition par les jets des pompiers, qui a atterri à 7h25.

André Schneider se réjouit de cette nouvelle route: «L’arrivée d’Ethiopian Airlines est l’aboutissement des efforts de Genève Aéroport pour se doter d’une desserte intercontinentale de qualité, répondant aux besoins de son marché. Ce succès vient compléter les liaisons ouvertes dans le passé vers la Chine, le Golfe persique et l’Amérique du nord. Par ailleurs, conformément à notre stratégie de développement qualitatif, Genève Aéroport est particulièrement attentif à promouvoir l’arrivée d’avions de dernière génération». 

Une nouvelle route au bénéfice des échanges diplomatiques et commerciaux vers l’Afrique
Cette nouvelle route, première ligne long courrier à destination de l’Afrique sub-saharienne, est particulièrement attendue par la Genève internationale et le monde diplomatique. 

«Genève accueille le plus grand nombre d’organisations internationales au monde, ce qui en fait une plaque tournante diplomatique. C’est en complémentarité parfaite avec notre hub d’Addis Abeba, capitale diplomatique de l’Afrique, qui abrite le siège de l’Union Africaine et de la Commission économique pour l’Afrique de l’ONU», explique Tewolde GebreMariam, CEO d’Ethiopian Airlines. Et de préciser: «Les responsables gouvernementaux ainsi que le personnel des organisations régionales et internationales à Genève et à travers notre vaste réseau africain auront désormais une excellente connectivité pour mener à bien leurs missions, avec des déplacements facilités.»  

Des secteurs d’activité comme la finance, le trading ou les industries d’exportation – sans oublier le tourisme – vont également bénéficier de cette nouvelle capacité aérienne vers l’Éthiopie et l’ensemble de la région.

Ethiopian, première compagnie et porte d’entrée vers le continent africain
Ethiopian est le plus grand groupe d’aviation en Afrique, fondé il y a plus de 70 ans. Il s’agit aujourd’hui du transporteur de référence pour tout le continent africain. Ethiopian Airlines dessert plus de 100 destinations dans le monde et opère une flotte particulièrement jeune et respectueuse de l’environnement. La compagnie est membre de Star Alliance depuis 2011 et elle est certifiée 4-étoiles par SKYTRAX. 

L’aéroport d’Addis Abeba – Bole est le hub de la compagnie aérienne et la meilleure plateforme de correspondance pour toute l’Afrique. Avec cet horaire, Ethiopian Airlines offrira d’excellentes correspondances vers plus de 50 destinations africaines, tant pour les voyageurs d’affaires que pour les touristes. Parmi les meilleures connexions, on peut citer Johannesburg, Nairobi, Dar-Es-Salam, Kinshasa, Luanda ou Victoria Falls

Même si elle est encore peu connue en tant que destination touristique, l’Éthiopie possède une culture et une histoire fascinantes. Deuxième pays africain le plus peuplé, avec plus de 100 millions d’habitants, elle offre une variété de paysages incomparable et propose au visiteur un héritage orthodoxe passionnant et des parcs nationaux superbes.

L’importante diaspora éthiopienne en Suisse et les nombreuses autres communautés africaines installées dans la région et en France voisine vont aussi bénéficier de cette nouvelle desserte très attendue.

Nouveaux avions performants, horaires pratiques
La route ADD-GVA sera opérée par le tout nouveau Boeing 787-8 Dreamliner, pouvant accueillir 24 passagers en classe affaires et 246 en éco. Cet avion – nouvellement arrivé dans la flotte de la compagnie – est l’un des plus modernes sur le marché. À la pointe de la technologie en matière de bruit et de pollution, il offre au passager un confort exceptionnel

Au départ de Genève:

  • Vols opérés mercredi, vendredi et dimanche 
  • Départ à 20:45 pour atterrir en Éthiopie à 05:55 le jour suivant

Au départ d’Addis Abeba:

  • Vols opérés mardi, jeudi et samedi
  • Départ à 23:10 pour arriver en Suisse à 07:25 le lendemain

Contact Presse:
Abdel Nour Taline, Coordinatrice Service Communication
+41 76 554 64 07

© Genève Aéroport – Photos par S. Gros


 Communiqué de presse (.PDF)

 Article sur l'Ethiopie par le magazine 30 degrés



GVA : Urgences