23.03.2018

Night flights to calibrate the instrument landing system approaches (ILS)


Genève Aéroport has sent a request to the Federal Office of Civil Aviation (FOCA) to allow calibration flights of ILS facilities (Instrument Landing System) outside the regular hours of operation. FOCA has accepted this request and several flights will take place at night in March and in September.

International civil aviation standards require a regular check of the proper functioning and accuracy of the navigation aids on airports. For this purpose, a specially equipped plane is used to make a series of approaches for landing. In Switzerland calibration flights are conducted under the monitoring of Skyguide, the authority responsible for airspace surveillance.

As calibration flights during the day are likely to disrupt air traffic, Genève Aéroport has requested from FOCA a special permission to plan them overnight, after the closure of the airport. FOCA has given a positive answer to this request by considering that calibration flights effectively disrupt air traffic and render flight operations more complicated.

Thus, Genève Aéroport has permission to organise a first calibration campaign during the nights of 26-27 March and 27-28 March 2018; a second campaign is planned during the nights of 17-18 September and 18-19 September 2018 

In case of additional needs or weather hazards Genève Aéroport has obtained approval to conduct measurement flights during the backup nights. In essence, these are, for the first campaign, the nights of 28-29 March, 4-5 April and 5-6 April and, for the second campaign, the nights of 19-20 September, 20-21 September, 8-9 October and 9-10 October 2018.

Communication from the Federal Office of Civil Aviation (FOCA)

GVA : Urgences

Informations & News

23.03.2018

Vols de nuit pour calibrer le système d’approche aux instruments (ILS)


Genève Aéroport a adressé à l’Office fédéral de l’aviation civile (OFAC) une demande pour autoriser des vols de calibrage des installations ILS (Instrument Landing System) en dehors des heures d’exploitation ordinaires. L’OFAC a accepté cette demande et plusieurs vols auront lieu de nuit en mars et en septembre.

Les normes de l’aviation civile internationale imposent de contrôler régulièrement le bon fonctionnement et la précision des aides à la navigation sur les aéroports. À cette fin, un avion spécialement équipé est utilisé pour faire une série d’approches. En Suisse, les vols de calibrage sont effectués sous l’égide de Skyguide, l’autorité responsable de la surveillance de l’espace aérien.

Comme l’organisation de vols de calibrage durant la journée est de nature à perturber le trafic aérien, Genève Aéroport a demandé à l’OFAC une autorisation exceptionnelle pour les planifier la nuit, après la fermeture de l’aéroport. L’OFAC a donné une suite favorable à cette demande estimant que les vols de calibrage perturbent effectivement le trafic aérien et rendent l’exploitation plus compliquée.

Genève Aéroport a donc l’autorisation d’organiser une première campagne de calibrage durant les nuits du 26 au 27 mars et du 27 au 28 mars 2018 et une seconde campagne est projetée durant les nuits du 17 au 18 septembre et du 18 au 19 septembre 2018

En cas de besoins supplémentaires ou d’aléas météorologiques Genève Aéroport a obtenu l’autorisation d’effectuer des vols de mesure durant des nuits de réserve. En substance, il s’agit, pour la première campagne, des nuits du 28 au 29 mars, du 4 au 5 avril et du 5 au 6 avril et, pour la seconde campagne, des nuits du 19 au 20 septembre, du 20 au 21 septembre, du 8 au 9 octobre et du 9 au 10 octobre 2018.

Communication de l'Office fédéral de l'aviation civile (OFAC)

GVA : Urgences