17.01.2018

2017 statistical report: increase in the number of passengers and aircraft movements stability


Passenger traffic rose to 4.95% in 2017, while the number of movements has stabilised, even more significantly than in 2016. Freight activity saw a very significant 18.7% development compared with 6.5% in 2016.

In 2017, Genève Aéroport welcomed approximately 17,351,816 passengers, i.e. 4.95% more than in 2016. In 2016, the increase compared to 2015 was 4.83%.

At the same time, the total landings and take-offs only rose by 0.49% to 190,778 movements. From 2015 to 2016, the total of movements had increased by 0.54%.

However, air cargo on Genève Aéroport platform sees a significant increase of 18.7%, reaching 89,012 tonnes, by taking advantage of the cargo capacity already available on the commercial planes of Genève Aéroport. From 2015 to 2016, it had grown by 6.6%, reaching a volume of 69,295 tonnes of transported goods.

These figures confirm the clear decoupling between the increasing curve in the number of passengers and in movements for the second consecutive year. This is explained by the better adaptation of capacities (companies opt for larger aircraft) as well as by the optimisation of their occupancy rate of the aircraft. 

The fleet choices that major airlines active on the platform have announced for 2017 participate in this trend. The Bombardier CSeries, the A 320neo, the A 350 and the Boeing 787, less noisy and less greedy in kerosene, also contribute to limit noise emissions. Moreover, operations of Genève Aéroport are neutral in terms of CO2 emissions. This performance is recognised by an international certification that Genève Aéroport has received on 16 January 2018 (ACA level 3 +). 

The very significant evolution of freight volumes is an excellent barometer of the local economy. Furthermore, it reinforces the policy of Genève Aéroport which aims at increasing the capabilities for such transport services and underlines the quality of infrastructure available for the process of cargo handling.

Airlines vying for the top ten places in terms of market share are easyJet (44.94%), SWISS (12.13%), British Airways (4.84%), Air France (4.34%), Lufthansa (3.43%), KLM Royal Dutch Airlines (2.57%), TAP Portugal (2.23%), Brussels Airlines (2.15%), Iberia (1.98%) and Emirates (1.,82%).

The list of destinations will be made public at the same time as the annual report and the financial statements of the year 2017. This communication will be made on 20 March 2017.

Contact: Sébastien Leprat (+41 76 577 05 71)



GVA : Urgences

Informations & News

17.01.2018

Bilan statistiques 2017: hausse du nombre de passagers et stabilité des mouvements d’aéronefs


Le trafic passager a augmenté de 4,95% en 2017, tandis que le nombre de mouvements s’est stabilisé, de manière plus significative encore qu’en 2016. L’activité fret connaît quant à elle une évolution très significative de 18,7% contre 6,5% en 2016.

Au cours de l’année 2017, Genève Aéroport a accueilli quelques 17'351’816 passagers, soit 4,95% de plus qu’en 2016. En 2016, l’augmentation par rapport à 2015 était de 4,83%.

Dans le même temps, le total des atterrissages et décollages n’a augmenté que de 0,49% pour atteindre 190'778 mouvements. De 2015 à 2016, le totale des mouvements avait augmenté de 0,54%.

En revanche, l’activité fret aérien sur la plate-forme aéroportuaire genevoise connaît une augmentation significative de 18,7%, pour s’établir à 89’012 tonnes, et ceci en profitant de la capacité cargo déjà disponible dans les avions de lignes sur Genève Aéroport. De 2015 à 2016, elle avait progressé de 6,6%, pour atteindre le volume de marchandises transportées de 69’295 tonnes.

Ces chiffres viennent confirmer le net découplage entre la courbe d’augmentation du nombre de passagers et celle des mouvements pour la seconde année consécutive. Ceci s’explique par la meilleure adaptation des capacités (les compagnies optent pour des avions de plus grande taille) ainsi que par l’optimisation de leurs taux de remplissage des appareils. 

Les choix de flotte que les principales compagnies aériennes actives sur la plate-forme ont annoncés pour 2017 participe de cette tendance. Les Bombardier CSeries, les A 320neo, les A 350 et les Boeing 787, moins bruyants et moins gourmands en kérosène, contribuent par ailleurs à limiter notamment les émissions sonores. Par ailleurs, les opérations de Genève Aéroport sont neutres en termes d’émission de CO2. Cette performance est reconnue par une certification internationale que Genève Aéroport vient de recevoir le 16 janvier 2018 (ACA niveau 3+). 

L’évolution très significative des volumes de fret constitue un excellent baromètre de l’économie locale. Par ailleurs, elle conforte la politique de Genève Aéroport qui tend à augmenter les capacités offertes pour de telles prestations de transport et souligne la qualité de l’infrastructure mise à disposition pour le processus de traitement du fret.

Les compagnies aériennes se disputant les dix premières places en termes de parts de marché sont easyJet (44,94%), SWISS (12,13%), British Airways (4,84%), Air France (4,34%), Lufthansa (3,43%), KLM Royal Dutch Airlines (2,57%), TAP Portugal (2,23%), Brussels Airlines (2,15%), Iberia (1,98%) et Emirates (1,82%).

Le palmarès des destinations sera rendu public en même temps que le rapport annuel et les états financiers de l’année 2017. Cette communication aura lieu le 20 mars 2017.

Contact: Sébastien Leprat (+41 76 577 05 71)



GVA : Urgences