09.01.2018

Arrival of Ethiopian Airlines in Geneva


Genève Aéroport is proud to announce the launch of a new long-haul connection to Addis Ababa, the Ethiopian capital. These flights will be operated by the Ethiopian Airlines from 3 June 2018, three rotations per week. This is the first regular destination in sub-Saharan Africa from Geneva, excellent news, for both Switzerland and international Geneva.

The national airline Ethiopian Airlines has indeed confirmed the novelties of its summer schedule, including Geneva as new destination on its network. The flights will take place three days a week: Wednesday, Friday and Sunday departing from Geneva and Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday departing from Addis Ababa

The plane will leave Geneva at 20:45 to land in Ethiopia at 05:55 the next day. For the return flight the take-off will be at 23:10, arriving in Switzerland at 07:25. It should be noted that in both directions the flight will make a short stop at Milan-Malpensa airport.

Addis Ababa - Bole airport is the hub of the airline and the best platform of correspondence for the entire Africa. With this schedule, Ethiopian Airlines will offer excellent connections to more than 50 African destinations, both for business and tourist travellers. The best connections include Johannesburg, Nairobi, Dar es Salaam, Kinshasa, Luanda, or Victoria Falls.

The ADD-GVA route will be operated by the all-new Boeing 787-8 "Dreamliner", which can accommodate 24 passengers in Business Class and 246 in Economy Class. This aircraft - newcomer in the company's fleet - is currently one of the most modern on the market. It is at the forefront of technology in terms of noise and pollution and offers exceptional comfort to the passenger.

Ethiopian is the largest group of aviation in Africa and operates for over 70 years. Today it is the carrier of reference for the entire African continent. Ethiopian Airlines serves more than 100 destinations worldwide and operates a particularly young and environmentally friendly fleet. The company is a member of Star Alliance since 2011 and is certified 4-star by SKYTRAX.

This new long-haul route is especially expected by international Geneva and the diplomatic world. Indeed, Addis Ababa is home to several intergovernmental organizations such as the Economic Commission for Africa of the United Nations or the African Union headquarters. Furthermore, NGOs based in Geneva will also be interested in better access to many African countries via the hub of Ethiopian. It is also an important asset for the Swiss diplomacy, very active on this continent.

Industries such as finance, trading or export industries - not to mention tourism - will also benefit from this new air capacity to Ethiopia and the entire region.

Even if it is still little known as a tourist destination, Ethiopia has a fascinating culture and history. Second African country in terms of population, with more than 100 million inhabitants, it gives an incomparable variety of landscapes and offers the visitors an exciting Orthodox heritage and stunning national parks.

The large Ethiopian diaspora in Switzerland and many other African communities in the region and in neighbouring France will definitely also benefit from this new highly anticipated service.

The arrival of Ethiopian Airlines is the culmination of Genève Aéroport’s efforts to develop an intercontinental quality service that meets the needs of its market. This success completes the connections open in the past toward China, the Persian Gulf and North America. Moreover, in its qualitative development strategy, Genève Aéroport is also particularly attentive to promote the arrival of last generation aircraft.

  • Flight ET 0727 - Wednesday, Friday, Sunday - from Geneva at 20:45  to Addis Ababa at 05:55 (+ 1 day)
  • Flight ET 0726 - Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday - from Addis Ababa at 23:10 - Geneva at 07:25 (+ 1 day)

Information & reservations

Marketing & Business development



GVA : Urgences

Informations & News

09.01.2018

Arrivée d’Ethiopian Airlines à Genève


Genève Aéroport est fier d’annoncer le lancement d’une nouvelle liaison long-courrier à destination d’Addis Abeba, la capitale de l’Éthiopie. Ces vols seront opérés par la compagnie Ethiopian Airlines à partir du 3 juin 2018, à raison de trois rotations par semaine. Il s’agit de la première destination régulière en Afrique subsaharienne depuis Genève, une excellente nouvelle, tant pour la Suisse que la Genève internationale.

La compagnie nationale Ethiopian Airlines a en effet confirmé les nouveautés de son horaire d’été, incluant Genève comme nouvelle destination sur son réseau. Les vols auront lieu trois jours par semaine: mercredi, vendredi et dimanche au départ de Genève et mardi, jeudi et samedi au départ d’Addis Abeba

L’avion partira de Genève à 20:45 pour atterrir en Éthiopie à 05:55 le jour suivant. Au retour, le décollage se fera à 23:10 pour arriver en Suisse à 07:25. À noter que dans les deux sens, le vol fera une courte escale à l’aéroport de Milan-Malpensa.

L’aéroport d’Addis Abeba – Bole est le hub de la compagnie aérienne et la meilleure plateforme de correspondance pour toute l’Afrique. Avec cet horaire, Ethiopian Airlines offrira d’excellentes correspondances vers plus de 50 destinations africaines, tant pour les voyageurs d’affaires que pour les touristes. Parmi les meilleures connexions, on peut citer Johannesburg, Nairobi, Dar-Es-Salam, Kinshasa, Luanda ou Victoria Falls.

La route ADD-GVA sera opérée par le tout nouveau Boeing 787-8 "Dreamliner", pouvant accueillir 24 passagers en classe affaires et 246 en éco. Cet avion – nouvellement arrivée dans la flotte de la compagnie – est l’un des plus modernes actuellement sur le marché. Il est à la pointe de la technologie en matière de bruit et de pollution et offre au passager un confort exceptionnel.

Ethiopian est le plus grand groupe d’aviation en Afrique et possède plus de 70 ans d’ancienneté. Il s’agit aujourd’hui du transporteur de référence pour tout le continent africain. Ethiopian Airlines dessert plus de 100 destinations dans le monde et opère une flotte particulièrement jeune et respectueuse de l’environnement. La compagnie est membre de Star Alliance depuis 2011 et elle est certifiée 4-étoiles par SKYTRAX.

Cette nouvelle liaison long-courrier est particulièrement attendue par la Genève internationale et le monde diplomatique. En effet, Addis Abeba abrite plusieurs organismes interétatiques comme la Commission économique pour l’Afrique de l’ONU ou le siège de l’Union Africaine. Par ailleurs, les ONG basées à Genève seront également intéressées par un meilleur accès à de nombreux pays africains via le hub d’Ethiopian. Il s’agit aussi d’un atout non négligeable pour la diplomatie suisse très active sur ce continent.

Des secteurs d’activité comme la finance, le trading ou les industries d’exportation – sans oublier le tourisme – vont également pouvoir bénéficier de cette nouvelle capacité aérienne vers l’Éthiopie et l’ensemble de la région.

Même si elle est encore peu connue comme destination touristique, l’Éthiopie possède une culture et une histoire fascinante. Deuxième pays africain le plus peuplé, avec plus de 100 millions d’habitants, elle offre une variété de paysages incomparable et propose au visiteur un héritage orthodoxe passionnant et des parcs nationaux superbes.

L’importante diaspora éthiopienne en Suisse et les nombreuses autres communautés africaines dans la région et en France voisine vont certainement aussi bénéficier de cette nouvelle desserte très attendue.

L’arrivée d’Ethiopian Airlines est l’aboutissement des efforts de Genève Aéroport pour se doter d’une desserte intercontinentale de qualité répondant aux besoins de son marché. Ce succès vient compléter les liaisons ouvertes dans le passé vers la Chine, le Golfe persique et l’Amérique du Nord. Par ailleurs, dans sa stratégie de développement qualitatif, Genève Aéroport est aussi particulièrement attentif à promouvoir l’arrivée d’avions de dernière génération.

Horaires:

  • Vol ET0727 -  Mercredi, vendredi, dimanche - Départ de Genève à 20:45 - Arrivée à Addis Abeba à 05:55 (+1 jour)
  • Vol ET0726 - Mardi, jeudi, samedi - Départ de Addis Abeba à 23:10 - Arrivée à Genève à 07:25 (+1 jour)

Informations & réservations:

 

Marketing & Business development



GVA : Urgences